Apply for a secondary school place

Late applications

Applications open on 1 September 2018 and the closing date is 31 October 2018. If you submit your application after this date it will only be considered if there were exceptional reasons that prevented you from applying on time. For example, this could be:

  • where you are a single parent and you have been seriously ill for an extended period;
  • a member of your immediate family has died; or
  • if your family has recently moved into the area or has just returned from abroad.

We’ll also need to see proof of ownership or tenancy of a property within Hackney as well as a utility bill.

The last date that exceptional reasons can be considered and agreed is Friday 7 December 2018. After this date your application will be late regardless of the circumstances and will only be considered after all applications sent in on time have been dealt with.

Important dates to remember

  • Saturday 1 September 2018
    Online applications open
  • From Wednesday 12 September to Thursday 18 October 2018
    Open days and evenings at Hackney secondary schools
  • From Monday 1 October to Friday 19 October 2018
    Cognitive ability tests for children attending Hackney primary schools
  • Friday 19 October 2018
    Closing date for Hackney residents to apply
  • Wednesday 31 October 2018
    Statutory deadline to apply
  • Saturday 24 November 2018 and Saturday 1 December 2018
    Cognitive ability tests for children attending primary schools outside Hackney
  • Friday 7 December 2018
    Last date to explain why your application was late or request changes to your application submitted on time
  • Friday 1 March 2019
    National offer day
  • Friday 15 March 2019
    Last date to respond to your offer
  • Thursday 28 March 2019
    Appeal deadline
  • May/June 2019
    Appeal hearings will take place
  • 31 August 2019
    All applicants are cleared from waiting lists
  • September 2019
    Children start school

Contacts

Secondary School Admissions

Telephone
020 8820 7000 (option 3)
This page was last modified on: 31 Aug 2018